Music That Makes You Happy


It is a shame when you lose one of your favorite albums before you have the chance to place it on iTunes and its existence fades away from your memory.
While scrolling through music stations. I discovered Music Choice brought back an Indie themed channel. I was more eager to listen than I normally am over music, as curiosity won the round in my head. After several songs, they aired “Wraith Pinned to the Mist and Other Games” from the album The Sunlandic Twins by of Montreal. Something internally moved about as if I had a party of micro sized dancing bears in my belly (coolness points if you recognize the reference). I remembered this song! I remembered dancing and singing along at full volume to this CD nearly a decade ago. Inevitably, I had to listen to more from this album. The catalyst had done its job and an audiophilic thirst needed quenching.

Sunlandicness Fun with Screenshot

Sunlandicness Fun with Screenshot

One thing I am very thankful to YouTube for is often you can find recordings of nearly any album. A quick search resulted in just what I was seeking. After it loaded, I pressed play and the aural odyssey commenced. In little time I reunited with the lyrical and compositional brilliance of Kevin Barnes. I was brought out of any afternoon funk, and felt joy. I probably do a disservice to myself, by not listening to as much music on a daily basis as I should, but at the same time I think it would stifle me experiencing moments such as these. Another thing I appreciate from this album is the squeezing of creative fruit which encourages me to release its juices. Already have ideas for some stories or poetry. I doubt this album has the same effect on everyone, but it’s certainly a musical experience.  I’ll depart on this note, something I needed to be reminded of from the song “Forecast Fascist Future.”

“Boredom murders the heart of our age while sanguinary creeps take the stage…
Boredom strangles the life from the printed page…
May we never be stripped of anything we love, may we grow so gentle, never go mental.”

What are some albums or music that makes you happy? Please feel free to share in the comments.